People: Cyril Naicker

Cyril Naicker is the CEO of Imprint Luxury and the Country Coordinator of Fashion Revolution in South Africa. We know Cyril from his activism and involvement in the local sustainable fashion movement, which means that he is constantly advocating for a more sustainable and ethical fashion industry. But, we wanted to find out a bit more about the man behind the movement. Cyril has a long history in fashion design and consultancy, and we wanted to hear about how his personal history has influenced and shaped his sustainability journey.


Masego & Stella: When did you first realise that you wanted to work in the fashion industry? What was your initial dream?

Cyril: I was in my matric year at school and a discussion with my art teacher at the time led me to pursue my studies in fashion design. This was in 1995. If I am really honest, I was not sure which specific field I was going to go into, I knew it was going to be creative and my top three options were; fashion, graphic design and cooking.

Cyril Naicker speaks on a panel about sustainability, technology and innovation at the African Fashion Exchange in 2019.

M & S: The ethos of Imprint Luxury, the company that you are CEO of, has a focus on generational knowledge, history and culture. Has your personal history and culture informed your views on sustainability and ethics? Or, was it something that you introduced into your social circle?

C: My childhood is filled with beautiful memories. My dad was the sole breadwinner in our home and our door was open to many extended families. Some who also stayed with us. Sustainable living was a huge part of my growing up. My mom was a legend in the kitchen and she could turn out the most simple ingredients into a feast. Clothing was repaired and mended. My parents instilled great values into us as kids and these are the ethics I live my life with to this day and these are the values that are in our company as well.

M & S: When you started your career in fashion, you entered a fashion industry where issues of sustainability and ethics were not necessarily at the forefront of peoples’ minds. At what point did you realise that there needed to be change in the industry, and that you wanted to be part of it?

C: This came about on my travels. I remember a trip to India very clearly and walking around and discovering many factories and seeing for the first time what human slavery looked like. I call this the ugly side of fashion. It was this trip that began to spark something in me that I knew I needed to change my mindset and my approach to the fashion industry of which I was a part of. We had to do better!

M & S: How did your personal sustainable style journey begin?

C: There was a season in my life where I was not working and could not get a job. It was difficult financially. In my kitchen I would come up with clever ways of using old produce as throwing away food was not an option. Similarly, with my clothing, I had no money to buy new things so I had to be clever about what was in my cupboard and how I put them together. My personal sustainable story began from a place of necessity.

Cyril with Thebe Magugu at the SA Fashion Week New Talent Search 2019. Cyril wears local designer Masa Mara.

M & S: What tips would you give to someone who might still want/need to buy from local retailers?

C: Look at the care label on the garment. Where is it made? From what is it made? If the garment is produced in South Africa, this is a good way to support local. I would also suggest that consumers start reading posts on Fashion Revolution’s website to get informed about what is happening in the clothing sector. Knowledge is power. I love this quote by poet and author Maya Angelou ‘Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better’.

M & S: You are a fashion designer by background. What changes have you noticed in the local fashion industry, since the beginning of your career?

C: We are proud to tell our cultural stories. In the past (and sadly to some extent to this day) we used to look to Europe to set the trends and we almost felt too ashamed to celebrate our own cultures. This has been the biggest change I have seen and one I am fully behind. We need to tell our own stories and use design to celebrate this.

From left to right: Cyril Naicker with Eli Gold (Designer and Creator of Masa Mara), Nontando Mposo (Editor-in-chief of Glamour SA) and Mzukisi Mbane (Designer and Creator of Imprint ZA).
Cyril wears a top from local designer MaXhosa.

M & S: You have an old blog called, A Son A Brother An Uncle. It seems like this was started around the time when you first discovered Fashion Revolution. How did you feel when you first discovered Fashion Revolution and, from there, how did you end up becoming the country coordinator for Fashion Revolution in South Africa?

C: That blog was about the lessons I have learnt in my life, mainly through my parents who have since passed away. It was a way of me keeping their memory alive and in many ways, that blog was a healing process through my own personal grief. I was also working on a fashion reality television show and while doing this, the factory collapse in Rana Plaza took place. This is how I first became aware of Fashion Revolution. I was a part of a small, amazing team in Cape Town and over the years grew into the heading up the team as country coordinator for South Africa.

From left to right: Cyril Naicker with Orsola de Castro (Founder/Creative Director of Fashion Revolution) and Carry Somers (Founder of Fashion Revolution).

M & S: How do you define ‘sustainability’?

C: Sustainability to me is all about balance. Balance to the planet and balance to people.

M & S: What is something that you are excited about, in terms of where the local sustainability movement is going this year?

C: Covid-19 has thrown a massive curve ball to us all. We are literally on lockdown and are having to think about how we do things and more specifically how we can do things differently and for the good. In terms of the local sustainability movement, this has highlighted the importance of what we at Fashion Revolution have been saying for a long time; support local businesses. Given the over production of clothing, this time has also highlighted the #LovedClothesLast movement. Being at home, we have been able to look through our clothes, mend them and adopt a different mindset in terms of shopping.

From left to right: Panelists at the African Fashion Exchange – Nontando Mposo (Editor-in-chief of Glamour SA), Dr Joy, Cyril Naicker, Nomso Kana (STEM education activist and nuclear scientist) and Holly Meadows (Editor-in-chief of Cosmopolitan SA).

M & S: What is something you are excited to learn more about, this year?

C: I am excited about the humanity of how we are all in this together. Specifically in how we have been supporting one another.

M & S: What is your favourite item in your wardrobe, and why?

C: Right now, it is my Adidas track pants. It is comfortable and with so many Zoom meetings and calls in terms of work, it is good to be comfortable. Adidas also has a good transparency index in terms of sustainability, human rights, governance and more.

M & S: What is your favourite cost-free place to go in your city?

C: Living in Sea Point, I am a huge fan of the promenade. It has views of both the ocean and the mountain and it is a place I go to think. You often meet friends walking or running along the promenade and it is good for the soul in many ways.

M & S: Where do you go when you want to treat yourself?

C: I love good food and we are blessed with many awesome restaurants in our city. I love supporting the local restaurants in my neighbourhood and there are many to choose from. My treat is sitting down by myself with a good meal and just my thoughts.

M & S: What social media accounts are inspiring you right now?

C: I’m loving @veja, @carrysomers, @orsoladecastro, @fash_rev, @meganfaletra, @liviafirth and @ethicalfashion

M & S: What is on your local brand wish list?

C: More Simon and Mary hats!


If you want to keep up with Cyril as he continues his journey in the sustainability space, check out his Instagram. Also, take a look at the Fashion Revolution website to find out more about the movement. 

With love, 

Masego & Stella x

Leave a comment